Holderness, NH—Squam Lakes Natural Science Center held the 2019 Annual Meeting for members on Saturday, August 10 at Lake Cruise Headquarters

Attendees enjoyed a continental breakfast prior to the business meeting where a quorum of members approved the 2018 Annual Meeting minutes. Executive Director Iain MacLeod gave an overview of 2018, and Treasurer Justin Van Etten presented the 2018 Financial Report.  

Officers elected to serve one-year terms include Chair Justin Van Etten, Vice Chair Lea A. Stewart, Treasurer Anne R. Lovette and Secretary Tom Cowie. Tashia Morgridge was elected as Honorary Trustee.

Four new trustees joined the board and will serve three-year terms: Kevin Barrett, Laurie Beeson, Paul Brochu Sc.D. and Laurie Thomsen Burke.

Kevin Barrett spent his career with the Professional Services firm of Deloitte and held various leadership roles in the firm’s management, consulting, auditing and financial services functions. Barrett serves as a trustee of Catholic Charities of New Hampshire and Treasurer and board member of the Massachusetts Food Association. Barrett founded the Nantucket Slam, an annual fishing tournament raising funds to “Catch the Cure” for cystic fibrosis, and also serves on the Finance Committee of the Science Center.

Laurie Beeson worked in corporate marketing for P&G, Pepsico, and Hallmark Cards. He has served on the New Hampshire Lakes Association and Squam Lakes Conservation Society boards. At the Science Center, Beeson served as chair of the Development Committee from 2007 to 2009, Board Chair from 2010 to 2014 and co-chair of the Science Center’s Nature Matters Capital Campaign. In 2015, Beeson was honored with the Horizon Award for his service to the Science Center.

Paul Brochu started his career in field biology, then shifted to the Navy Medical Service Corps, earning his master’s and doctoral degrees in Environmental Health at the Harvard School of Public Health. Brochu retired from the Navy as a Captain in 2017 and began volunteering at the Science Center in 2018 as a docent. He also serves on the Education Committee and is now a tour captain. 

Laurie Thomsen Burke worked in environmental consulting before switching to education, working in experiential education programs and traveling all over the world on traditional sailing vessels. Burke is currently a hospice nurse for Pemi Baker Home Health Association of Plymouth.

Retiring board members Peggy Conver, Mary Earick, Barb Laverack, Dave Martin and Susan McKimens were thanked for their years of service to the Science Center.

MacLeod presented the Horizon Award for outstanding service to the Science Center to Laura Mammarelli, Blue Heron School Director. Other employees recognized for their service include: Senior Naturalist Dave Erler (40 years), Naturalist Eric D’Aleo (25 years), Finance Director Brian Eaton (15 years), Administrative Assistant Mary Noyes (15 years), Education Director Audrey Eisenhauer (5 years), Facilities Assistant Keith Hosking (5 years) and Operations Manager Sharon Warga (5 years). Between them, these seven employees represent 110 years of service to the Science Center

The full 2018 Annual Report can be found at nhnature.org/support